Richard Wagner: Tristan und Isolde, Prelude WWV 90 (1857)
Rebecca Saunders: Still – choreographic Version (2011/16) for Violin, Orchestra and Dancers
Alban Berg: Lulu-Suite. Symphonic Pieces from the Opera Lulu for coloratura Soprano and Orchestra (1934)

UN/RUHE is the new cross-genre project, in which the Young German Philharmonic with violinist Carolin Widmann and dancers from Sasha Waltz & Guests in musical and performative counterpoints arrange: The core of this choreographic concert is the Violin Concerto Still by Rebecca Saunders, framed by Richard Wagner’s Prelude to Tristan and Isolde and the Lulu Suite by Alban Berg.

Rebecca Sounders Violin Concerto, premiered in 2014 by Carolin Widmann, has musically expanded for this project, thus creating the basis for the congenial choreographic implementation.

Ana Durlovski (Soprano)
Carolin Widmann (Violin)
Rebecca Saunders (Composition/Concept)
Jochen Sandig (Scenic Arrangement/Concept)
Antonio Ruz (Choreography)
Rosabel Huguet (Repetition)
Jörg Bittner (Light)
Sasha Waltz & Guests
Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
Sylvain Cambreling (Musical Direction/Conductor)

A Production of the Junge Deutschen Philharmonie in Coproduction with Sasha Waltz & Guests, the Internationalen Ferienkursen für Neue Musik Darmstadt, the Kunstfest Weimar and the Radialsystem V Berlin.

Find more information at:

Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt

Radialsystem V Berlin

Kunstfest Weimar

photos: (c)